People

Professors

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Marjan Colletti, PhD

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Marjan Colletti, PhD


Professor



Studio Colletti Teaching

Dr. Marjan Colletti is an architect, designer, educator, researcher and author. He holds a degree from the University of Innsbruck and a PhD in architectural design from The Bartlett School of Architecture UCL (MArch Architecture). He is a p/t chair professor of Building Design & Construction as well as the founder of REX|LAB, the robotic experimentation laboratory at the University of Innsbruck. He is also a p/t full professor of Architecture & Postdigital Practice (first world-wide) and co-director of the MArch Architecture (ARB/RIBA Part 2) at The Bartlett School of Architecture UCL London. He was also a guest professor at UCLA (University of California Los Angeles), UTA (University of Texas Arlington) and TU Vienna, and taught at the University of Westminster and the Royal College of Art in London. He co-founded MAM-arch and ran workshops in Taiwan, Norway, Denmark and France. Marjan has exhibited over 90 times in international venues, he publishes and lectures regularly on design-research and research-led education, and acts as scientific reviewer for several major funding bodies in the UK, Switzerland, Canada, Russia, Australia, UAE etc.


email: marjan.colletti@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64685
Univ.-Prof. Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Karolin Schmidbaur

Univ.-Prof. Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Karolin Schmidbaur


Professor



Karolin Schmidbaur is an internationally practicing architect, researcher and educator. She is a Partner at Coop Himmelb(l)au and Professor at the University of Innsbruck, institute of experimental architecture, building construction and technology.

Karolin Schmidbaur holds a degree from the Technical University of Munich where she graduated in 1992. In the same year she joined Coop Himmelb(l)au in Vienna, Austria, and since then has been operating from their offices in Los Angeles, California, which she led from 2003 to 2016, and Guadalajara, México, from 2000 to 2003. Since 2009 Karolin Schmidbaur is Partner at Coop Himmelb(l)au, Vienna, and Head of Research of the office.

International, realized projects under her lead are the Groninger Museum, East Pavilion, in Groningen, Netherlands (1994), one of the first buildings constructed directly from 3-dimensional digital data, the High School for the Visual and Performing Arts in Los Angeles, California (2008), a flagship project on the west coast of the United States for art in public education, and the Paneum near Linz, Austria (2017), the first free- form building in Austria to be constructed from cross laminated timber.

The focus of her research and practice lies in the development and translation of innovative architectural ideas into material, detail and construction. Here she investigates the reciprocity of analog and digital processes and the synthesis of opposites as a strategy for spatial, material and detail development.

Before joining the University of Innsbruck in 2017 she taught at the University of California (1997-98) and the Southern California Institute of Architecture (1998-2000, 2014), both in Los Angeles, as well as the Post Graduate Program of the University of Applied Art in Vienna (2010-2012).

Karolin Schmidbaur is an active member of the German (since 1995) and the Austrian Chamber of Architects (since 2018).

Studio Schmidbaur Teaching


email: karolin.schmidbaur@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64614

Administrative Staff

Andrea Jungmann

Andrea Jungmann


Secretary




email: hochbau@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64610

Scientific Staff

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Heike Bablick

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Heike Bablick


Senior Lecturer, IT representative




email: heike.bablick@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64650
Dipl.-Ing. Kilian Bauer

Dipl.-Ing. Kilian Bauer


University Assistant, PHD student




email: Kilian.Bauer@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Andreas Körner, PhD

Andreas Körner, PhD


University Assistant, Post-doc



Andreas’ research and design experiments explore the relationship between the built and the natural environment through layering, materials, and environmental simulations. Special interest is given to the impact of weather on surfaces and their textural articulations. The results are highly intricate interfaces that communicate invisible environmental parameters to humans in the built environment. Andreas is PhD alumnus of the department; his dissertation can be found here.


email: Andreas.Koerner@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64613
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Peter Massin

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Peter Massin


University Assistant, Post-doc



Peters Massins’ field of research deals with digital design processes and the theory of ornament. In 2021 he finished his doctorate, titled Zur Konstitution des Ornaments The research investigates the historiography of the ornament and its recent implications in the digital and postdigital era. Peter holds a Post-doc position at the Department of Experimental Architecture.

He is a member of the chamber of architects and part of the committee for professional education. Peter is the coordinator of the first-year bachelor’s program and the associate dean of studies of the faculty of architecture. With Marjan Colletti, he is the co-editor of two publications, Research and Project Almanac (2013) and Meeting Nature Halfway (2018). In 2019 Marjan Colletti and Peter, as co-author, received the FWF (PEEK) grant and the resulting 4-year research project Postdigital-Neobaroque.

Teaching and research activities of Peter: https://www.exparch.at/tag/peter-massin/


email: Peter.Massin@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64655
Dipl.-Ing. Theresa Uitz, BSc BA

Dipl.-Ing. Theresa Uitz, BSc BA


University Assistant, PHD candidate



Dipl.-Ing. Theresa Uitz, BSc BA cand PhD is an Austrian researcher and designer, currently holding a doctoral position at the hosting Department. Her combined degrees in architecture and art history push her research interests into several interdisciplinary fields, currently investigating architectural surfaces and their role as artistic canvases for representation. She engages with historical and contemporary concepts of virtuality and cyberspace by integrating point cloud data visualisation. She was awarded the Creative Innovation Award Future Cities-Future Architectures of Tongji University in Shanghai for the concept: What if the building is the nature? and two fundings by the host University (Early Stage Funding, Förderkreis 1669). Most recently, her work was discussed at the DFK (Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte, Max Weber Stiftung) in Paris.


email: Theresa.Uitz@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64622
Arqu. Dr. Gonzalo Vaíllo, MSc

Arqu. Dr. Gonzalo Vaíllo, MSc


University Assistant, Post-doc



Gonzalo Vaíllo is a registered architect in Spain, principal founder of the Vienna-based studio MORPHtopia, and a postdoctoral fellow at the Department of Experimental Architecture (Studio Schmidbaur) at the University of Innsbruck. He has also been a visiting professor at Texas A&M University and has taught at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. He holds a doctorate in architecture from the University of Innsbruck and the Polytechnic University of Madrid (international co-tutelle). His work intertwines practice, design research and theory, focusing on aesthetics, technology and philosophy for a design theory and methodology of the unknown potential of multi-agency objects as design material.


email: Gonzalo.Vaillo-Martinez@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64617
Dipl.-Ing. Georg Grasser, MAS

Dipl.-Ing. Georg Grasser, MAS


Senior Scientist




email: georg.grasser@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64623
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Markus Malin

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Markus Malin


University Assistant




email: Markus.K.Malin@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64630
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Mathoy

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Mathoy


Senior Lecturer




email: Thomas.Mathoy@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64615
Mag. Christoph Opperer

Mag. Christoph Opperer


University Assistant, PHD candidate




email: christoph.opperer@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64616
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Gilbert Sommer

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Gilbert Sommer


Senior Scientist




email: Gilbert.Sommer@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64645

Lecturers

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Paul Kappeler

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Paul Kappeler


External Lecturer




email: paul.kappeler@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Florian Fender

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Florian Fender


External Lecturer




email: florian.fender@uibk.ac.at
phone:
M.A. Jade Bailey

M.A. Jade Bailey


External Lecturer




email: jade.bailey@uibk.ac.at
phone:
M.Arch. Harry Hinton-Hard

M.Arch. Harry Hinton-Hard


External Lecturer




email: harry.hinton-hard@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Hörl

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Hörl


External Lecturer




email: andreas.hoerl@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Mario Ramoni

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Mario Ramoni


External Lecturer




email: mario.ramoni@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Franz Sam

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Franz Sam


External Lecturer




email: franz.sam@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Christiane Marmsoler

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Christiane Marmsoler


External Lecturer




email: Christiane.Marmsoler@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Christoph Schlapak

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Christoph Schlapak


External Lecturer




email: christoph.schlapak@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Simon Oberhammer

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Simon Oberhammer


External Lecturer




email: simon.oberhammer@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Josef Herzog

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Josef Herzog


External Lecturer




email: josef.herzog@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Jan Contala

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Jan Contala


External Lecturer




email: jan.contala@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Frank Ludin

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Frank Ludin


External Lecturer




email: Frank.Ludin@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Mag. Arch. Lukas Allner

Mag. Arch. Lukas Allner


External Lecturer




email: Lukas.Allner@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Dipl.-Ing. Mümün Keser, BSc.

Dipl.-Ing. Mümün Keser, BSc.


External Lecturer




email: muemuen.keser@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Santosh Kumar Ketham, MSc, B.Arch, Dip.Arch

Santosh Kumar Ketham, MSc, B.Arch, Dip.Arch


External Lecturer



Ketham Santosh Kumar a practicing architect, educator, philanthropist and PhD researcher at Innsbruck university exparch, hochbau, Austria. He is founder and principal of studio Ketham's Atelier Architects and NGO Thinking Hand. His work and talks are inspiring, empowering people and reforming neglected communities. He taught design, architecture and urbanism in various International Universities in India and Austria. He was honoured with many International awards and rewards. He was invited to lecture and as critic in some of the renowned Universities IITH, NIFTH, SPAV, JNAFAU, HITS, UIBK, UNI-AK, Josh Talks. He was interviewed on Deutsche Welle Documentary, 3Sat, ORF TV, Architecturelive, Shoutout DFW, The Hindu, TOI, and Eenadu.

Teaching : Climate Responsive Architecture

Website:

email: kethamsatelier@gmail.com
phone: +43 66565271076
Arch. Dipl. Ing. Michaela Mair

Arch. Dipl. Ing. Michaela Mair


External Lecturer




email: michaela.mair@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 650 9289698
Arch. Dipl. Ing. Frank Stasi

Arch. Dipl. Ing. Frank Stasi


External Lecturer



Frank Stasi is an external lecturer who provides hands-on supervision for students during Bachelor thesis sophia builds - new places for new learning, summer semester 2021.


email: frank.stasi@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43/676 840082100
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Martin Zangerl

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Martin Zangerl


External Lecturer




email: martin.zangerl@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Volker Flamm MArch

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Volker Flamm MArch


External Lecturer




email: Volker.Flamm@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Peter Gruber

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Peter Gruber


External Lecturer




email: hans-peter.gruber@uibk.ac.at
phone:

Student Tutors

Claudia Rohrer

Claudia Rohrer


Student Tutor




email: claudia.rohrer@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Theresa Biesalski

Theresa Biesalski


Student Tutor, Assistant at REX|LAB




email: theresa.biesalski@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Wolfgang Schuierer

Wolfgang Schuierer


Student Tutor




email: wolfgang.schuierer@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Louis Körbächer

Louis Körbächer


Student Tutor




email: louis.koerbaecher@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Valentin Jonathan Fick

Valentin Jonathan Fick


Student Tutor




email: Valentin.Fick@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Catalina Tripolt

Catalina Tripolt


Student Tutor




email: catalina.tripolt@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Amy Ehinger

Amy Ehinger


Student Tutor, Assistant at REX|LAB




email: amy.ehinger@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Simon Hildebrand

Simon Hildebrand


Student Tutor, Assistant at REX|LAB




email: simon.hildebrand@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Magdalena Kley

Magdalena Kley


Student Tutor




email: magdalena.kley@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Tobias Niederholzer

Tobias Niederholzer


Student Tutor




email: tobias.niederholzer@uibk.ac.at
phone:

Former Staff

Lorenz Andexer

Lorenz Andexer





email: lorenz.andexer@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Pavlos Fereos, MArch

Pavlos Fereos, MArch


Senior Scientist




email: pavlos.fereos@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Christian Bührer

Christian Bührer


Student Tutor




email:
phone:
Julian Edelmann

Julian Edelmann


Student Tutor, Assistant at REX|LAB




email:
phone:
Oliver Hamedinger, BSc.

Oliver Hamedinger, BSc.


Student Tutor




email:
phone:
Alex Kegel

Alex Kegel


Student Tutor




email: Alexander.Kegel@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Lauritz Kobor

Lauritz Kobor


Student Tutor




email: Lauritz.Kobor@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Konstantin Kreckel

Konstantin Kreckel


Student Tutor




email: Konstantin.Kreckel@student.uibk.ac.at
phone: