People

Professors

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Marjan Colletti, PhD

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Marjan Colletti, PhD


Professor



Studio Colletti Teaching

Dr. Marjan Colletti is an architect, designer, educator, researcher and author. He holds a degree from the University of Innsbruck and a PhD in architectural design from The Bartlett School of Architecture UCL (MArch Architecture). He is a p/t chair professor of Building Design & Construction as well as the founder of REX|LAB, the robotic experimentation laboratory at the University of Innsbruck. He is also a p/t full professor of Architecture & Postdigital Practice (first world-wide) and co-director of the MArch Architecture (ARB/RIBA Part 2) at The Bartlett School of Architecture UCL London. He was also a guest professor at UCLA (University of California Los Angeles), UTA (University of Texas Arlington) and TU Vienna, and taught at the University of Westminster and the Royal College of Art in London. He co-founded MAM-arch and ran workshops in Taiwan, Norway, Denmark and France. Marjan has exhibited over 90 times in international venues, he publishes and lectures regularly on design-research and research-led education, and acts as scientific reviewer for several major funding bodies in the UK, Switzerland, Canada, Russia, Australia, UAE etc.


email: marjan.colletti@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64685
Univ.-Prof. Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Karolin Schmidbaur

Univ.-Prof. Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Karolin Schmidbaur


Professor



Karolin Schmidbaur is an internationally practicing architect, researcher and educator. She is a Partner at Coop Himmelb(l)au and Professor at the University of Innsbruck, institute of experimental architecture, building construction and technology.

Karolin Schmidbaur holds a degree from the Technical University of Munich where she graduated in 1992. In the same year she joined Coop Himmelb(l)au in Vienna, Austria, and since then has been operating from their offices in Los Angeles, California, which she led from 2003 to 2016, and Guadalajara, México, from 2000 to 2003. Since 2009 Karolin Schmidbaur is Partner at Coop Himmelb(l)au, Vienna, and Head of Research of the office.

International, realized projects under her lead are the Groninger Museum, East Pavilion, in Groningen, Netherlands (1994), one of the first buildings constructed directly from 3-dimensional digital data, the High School for the Visual and Performing Arts in Los Angeles, California (2008), a flagship project on the west coast of the United States for art in public education, and the Paneum near Linz, Austria (2017), the first free- form building in Austria to be constructed from cross laminated timber.

The focus of her research and practice lies in the development and translation of innovative architectural ideas into material, detail and construction. Here she investigates the reciprocity of analog and digital processes and the synthesis of opposites as a strategy for spatial, material and detail development.

Before joining the University of Innsbruck in 2017 she taught at the University of California (1997-98) and the Southern California Institute of Architecture (1998-2000, 2014), both in Los Angeles, as well as the Post Graduate Program of the University of Applied Art in Vienna (2010-2012).

Karolin Schmidbaur is an active member of the German (since 1995) and the Austrian Chamber of Architects (since 2018).

Studio Schmidbaur Teaching


email: karolin.schmidbaur@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64614

Administrative Staff

Andrea Jungmann

Andrea Jungmann


Secretary




email: hochbau@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64610

Scientific Staff

Dipl.-Ing. Mümün Keser, BSc.

Dipl.-Ing. Mümün Keser, BSc.


Research Assistant




email: muemuen.keser@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Heike Bablick

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Heike Bablick


Senior Lecturer




email: heike.bablick@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64650
Dipl.-Ing. Tiziano Derme, MArch

Dipl.-Ing. Tiziano Derme, MArch


University Assistant, PHD candidate




email: tiziano.derme@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64621
Pavlos Fereos, MArch

Pavlos Fereos, MArch


Senior Scientist




email: pavlos.fereos@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Dipl.-Ing. Georg Grasser, MAS

Dipl.-Ing. Georg Grasser, MAS


Senior Lecturer




email: georg.grasser@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64623
Oliver Hamedinger, BSc.

Oliver Hamedinger, BSc.


Research Assistant




email: oliver.hamedinger@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Andreas Körner, MArch

Andreas Körner, MArch


University Assistant, PHD candidate



In his research and design experiments Andreas explores the relationship between the built and the natural environment through layering, materials, and environmental simulations. Special interest is given to the impact of weather on surfaces and their textural articulations. The results are highly intricate interfaces that communicate invisible environmental parameters to humans in the built environment.


email: Andreas.Koerner@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64613
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Markus Malin

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Markus Malin


University Assistant




email: Markus.K.Malin@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64630
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Mathoy

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Mathoy


Senior Lecturer




email: Thomas.Mathoy@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64615
Mag. Christoph Opperer

Mag. Christoph Opperer


University Assistant, PHD candidate




email: christoph.opperer@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64616
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Gilbert Sommer

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Gilbert Sommer


Senior Scientist




email: Gilbert.Sommer@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64645
Catalina Tripolt

Catalina Tripolt


Research Assistant




email: catalina.tripolt@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Dipl.-Ing. Theresa Uitz, BSc

Dipl.-Ing. Theresa Uitz, BSc


University Assistant, PHD candidate




email: Theresa.Uitz@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64622
Arqu. Gonzalo Vaillo Martinez, MSc

Arqu. Gonzalo Vaillo Martinez, MSc


University Assistant, PHD candidate



Gonzalo Vaillo is a registered architect in Spain and founder of the Vienna-based studio MORPHtopia. He holds a degree from the University of Alcalá and a postgraduate degree from the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. His writings and theoretical works focus on aesthetics, technology, and philosophy for the development of a design theory of the unknown as design material. Gonzalo is a university assistant at the Institute for Experimental Architecture.Hochbau (Studio Schmidbaur), where he teaches bachelor's and master's design studios as well as diploma theses. He has also been a visiting professor at Texas A&M University and has taught at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna.


email: Gonzalo.Vaillo-Martinez@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64617

Lecturers

Mag. Arch. Lukas Allner

Mag. Arch. Lukas Allner


external Lecturer




email: Lukas.Allner@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Volker Flamm MArch

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Volker Flamm MArch


external Lecturer




email: Volker.Flamm@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Peter Gruber

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Peter Gruber


external Lecturer




email: hans-peter.gruber@uibk.ac.at
phone:
Arch. Dipl. Ing. Michaela Mair

Arch. Dipl. Ing. Michaela Mair


external Lecturer




email: michaela.mair@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 650 9289698
Arch. Dipl. Ing. Frank Stasi

Arch. Dipl. Ing. Frank Stasi


external Lecturer



Frank Stasi is an external lecturer who provides hands-on supervision for students during Bachelor thesis sophia builds - new places for new learning, summer semester 2021.


email: frank.stasi@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43/676 840082100
Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Martin Zangerl

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Martin Zangerl


external Lecturer




email: martin.zangerl@uibk.ac.at
phone:

Student Tutors

Kilian Bauer

Kilian Bauer


Assistant at REX|LAB




email: Kilian.Bauer@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Christian Bührer

Christian Bührer


Tutor




email: Christian.Bührer@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Julian Edelmann

Julian Edelmann


Assistant at REX|LAB




email: Julian.Edelmann@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Valentin Jonathan Fick

Valentin Jonathan Fick


Student Tutor




email: Valentin.Fick@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Alex Kegel

Alex Kegel


Student Tutor




email: Alexander.Kegel@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Magdalena Kley

Magdalena Kley


Student Tutor




email: magdalena.kley@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Lauritz Kobor

Lauritz Kobor


Student Tutor




email: Lauritz.Kobor@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:
Konstantin Kreckel

Konstantin Kreckel


Student Tutor




email: Konstantin.Kreckel@student.uibk.ac.at
phone:

Alumni

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Peter Massin

Arch. Dipl.-Ing. Peter Massin


Senior Lecturer, PHD candidate




email: Peter.Massin@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64655
Anastasia Zaytseva, MArch

Anastasia Zaytseva, MArch


University Assistant, PHD candidate




email: Anastasia.Zaytseva@uibk.ac.at
phone: +43 512 507 64618